Astralis Team Shines with 2023 Achievements

This year has been a significant one for the team at Astralis, marked by a series of noteworthy accomplishments in the various fields. In 2023, Astralis dedicated engineers, scientists, and researchers received recognition for their contributions to across scientific leadership, cultural diversity, and educational Innovation. These accomplishments are a testament to our team’s technical skill and creativity. They also demonstrate our dedication to fostering an inclusive and collaborative atmosphere within the scientific community, a core value that we at Astralis hold dear.    

Joss Bland-Hawthorn was awarded 2023 Honoris Doctor Causa, Université d’Aix Marseille, Palais de Pharo, Marseille

Prof Joss Bland-Hawthorn (Astralis-Usyd) was awarded 2023 Honoris Doctor Causa, Université d’Aix Marseille, Palais de Pharo, Marseille. He was named in the top 30 Australian physical scientists on the list and was identified in the Australian’s list of Research Field Leaders. In the same year, Joss was also elected as an International Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Science, a rare honour that only a small number of Australians have received.  

Dr Roger Haynes (Astralis-AITC) won 2023 Australian National University (ANU) Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Culture Champion. He played a lead role in developing the ANU Research School of Astronomy & Astrophysics (RSAA) 2021 Culture Plan and has been a champion for increasing gender diversity amongst AITC staff. Roger also led the development of the ANU Specialist stream, which improves career pathways and opportunities for technical experts who are amongst the key players of not only instrumentation but also broader university environment.

Prof Peter Tuthill’s (Astralis-Usyd) TOLIMAN space project was highlighted in Cosmos Magazine (click here for more information).

Prof Julia Bryant (Astralis-Usyd) was awarded funding though the Faculty of Science Research Equipment and Infrastructure Scheme for the Astralis-USyd/SAIL optical fibre testing facility in September.

The AAO-Macquarie ESO Pipelines Project Team (Astralis-AAO) won the Faculty of Science and Engineering 2023 Award for Operational Excellence of Macquarie University.

Dr Simon O’Toole (Astralis-AAO) and Nuria Lorente (Astralis-AAO) received the Faculty of Science and Engineering 2023 Excellence in Support of Colleagues Award of Macquarie University. 

Rebecca Brown (Astralis-AAO) and Dr. Nuwanthika Fernando (Astralis-AAO) joined the Homeward Bound journey, an initiative to amplify women in STEMM leadership roles.

The AAO-Macquarie (Astralis-AAO) was awarded the Bronze Pleiades Award.